Misson Statement of the Chicago Chapter of ONS (Chartered in 1980)

The Chicago Chapter is one of more than 200 chapters of the Oncology Nursing Society, a professional organization of over 35,000 registered nurses and other healthcare providers dedicated to excellence in patient care, education, research, and administration in oncology nursing. ONS is the largest professional oncology association in the world.

  • Uphold the Oncology Nursing Society‚Äôs vision, mission, and values at the local level
  • Support oncology nurses in the Chicago area through educational programs, mentoring relationships and scholarships
  • Promote evidence-based oncology nursing practice in the Chicagoland area
  • Promote quality cancer care in the Chicagoland area

2018 CCONS Board and Committee Chairs


President:  Joseph D. Tariman, PhD, RN, ANP-BC, FAAN phdinseattle@gmail.com

President-Elect:  Carol Knop, APN, AOCN  csknop@comcast.net

Secretary:  Laura Campa, BSN, RN  lauracampa04@gmail.com

Treasurer:  Beth Vaclavik, DNP, RN, OCN elizabeth_A_Vaclavik@rush.edu

Treasurer-Elect: Barbara Noparstak, MSN, RN, AOCN  Bnopars@aol.com  

DAL Awards:  Ima Garcia, MSN, RN, AOCNP  imagarcia19@gmail.com

DAL Community Outreach:  Nadia Spawn, MSN, RN, nyspawn@gmail.com

DAL Research:  Caitlin Murphy, DNP, FNP-BC, OCN  caitlin_murphy@rush.edu



Archives:   Maryjo Osowski, MSN, RN, AOCN   mosowski@gmail.com

Membership:  Alicia Ponce, BSN, RN, OCN    aliciavponce@yahoo.com  

Nominating Committee:  Carol Knop, APN, AOCN  csknop@comcast.net

Program:  Katharine Szubski, BSN, RN, OCN    klszubskiocn@gmail.com 

                  Eric Zack, DNP, ACNP-BC, AOCN, BMTCN eric_s_zack@rush.edu

Social Media:   Jazel Dolores, MSN, RN,  jazel.dolores@gmail.com

Virtual Community:  Denise Friesema, MS, RN, OCN  jdfriesema@comcast.net