Welcome to the Chicago Chapter of ONS!

chapter logo

The Chicago Chapter invites you to browse our Virtual Community site

and participate in our events and other offerings.  This is your local ONS connection. 

Find out about our membership, leadership, meetings, events, newsletter, and much more.


Chicago Chapter Upcoming Events

Wednesday 2/18/15 at 6:00PM CST
CCONS Chapter Meeting and Program : Smoking Cessation
CCONS Presents Smoking Cessation Speaker: Carol South...

Wednesday 3/25/15 at 6:00PM CDT
March Joint Chapter Meeting and Dinner Program with CWSCONS
Joint Chapter meeting with Chicago West Suburban Chapter of ...

Wednesday 4/15/15 at 6:00PM CDT
Chapter Meeting and Program - New Agents
New Agents - More info to follow

CCONS Presents

Smoking Cessation

Speaker: Carol Southard RN MSN

Rush University Medical Center

Armour Academic Center- Rm 994 600 South Paulina Street Chicago Illinois 60612

Voucher for free parking in Rush Lot to first 40 guests who RSVP

Armour Center can be accessed from ground floor or 4th floor walkway from parking garage

Wednesday, February 18, 2015

6:00 PM-6:30 PM Registration, Dinner

6:30 PM – 7:00 PM Business meeting

7:00 PM - 8:00 PM Program

8:00 PM - 8:15 PM Evaluation

Please RSVP to: CCONSPC@gmail.com

This activity has been submitted to the Oncology Nursing Society for approval for contact hours.

ONS is accredited as an approver of continuing nursing education by the American Nurses Credentialing Center’s COA

1.0 contact hours have been requested

Upcoming Events


Bev Caraher bcaraher@msn.com or Jan Golick janetgolick@comcast.net

You may attach your own flyer for us to provide a hyperlink, but you must also fill out the required posting form.


The Survivorship, Rehabilitation, and Quality of Life SIG is sponsoring a Pre-Conference Session entitled: LIFE- Living in the Future Cancer Survivorship Course. This program was designed by Dr. Carol A Rosenberg (Program Director and Founder) and Carol Flanagan (Program Clinical Coordinator) from the NorthShore University HealthSystems to educate healthcare professionals about survivorship care. Program attendees will receive a copy of the comprehensive LIFE cancer survivorship manual (on flash drive) to utilize within their individual practices. Dr. Rosenberg and Ms. Flanagan have presented this program to oncology and primary care providers and received rave reviews!

Following attendance at this session, participants will be able to:

1)      Anticipate the needs of the post treatment cancer survivor

2)      Identify the problems which may face cancer survivors

3)      Address those needs and issues in dynamic partnerships with cancer survivors and their families

4)      Design an individualized wellness plan for cancer survivors

The session will be held at the Convention Center on Wednesday, April 22, 2015 from 0930 until noon. This session is being underwritten by the Colman Foundation and ONS/Lily SIG Special Project Funding so there is no registration fee. However, seating is limited to the first 150 people who register. Attendees will earn 2.25 Continuing Education Credits.

Please use the following link to register electronically to attend the session. The link will remain live until the maximum occupancy is achieved. Registrants will receive a reminder email and further communication about the exact room location.


We hope you will join us!!!


Jamie S. Myers PhD, RN, AOCNS                               Carol Flanagan RN, MSN, OCN    Carol A. Rosenberg, MD, FACP

SIG Coordinator                                                                SIG Member and Presenter        Presenter


The link for registration is below.







2014 CCONS Membership Awards

 2014 CCONS Membership Award Winners!

Professional Development Awards

Jacqueline Lippe

Karen Matijevich

Olatokunbo Olorunfemi

Ima Garcia

 Nursing Education Scholarships

Rebecca Buring

Evelyn Gallinaitis

Rachel Ochoa

Sandy Purl Spirit of CCONS Award 

 Mary Lappe

Sandy Purl Mentorship Scholarship Recipient

 Kelly Bass



Cancer Symptoms
This ONS website is designed for patients and caregivers to provide information on learning about and managing each of ten common cancer treatment symptoms: anorexia, cognitive dysfunction, depression, dyspnea, fatigue, hormonal disturbances, neutropenia, pain, peripheral neuropathy, and sexual dysfunction.


Access Devices: The Virtual Clinic Online Course
Looking for an innovative way to really understand access devices? Then join Access Devices: The Virtual Clinic and treat virtual patients with this newest online course.